My Garden of Friendships


Every time someone disappoints or tics me off I wonder if there are any nice people left anymore. I always seem to get lucky and meet someone else who shows me they still exist. I forget that this world has a way of balancing things out.  That is God’s way of taking care of us.  Sometimes I also forget to stop and smell those roses in life so I get irritated, disillusioned and impatient when I come across the thorns. I need to remind myself to look at the beautiful roses and other flowers in this world. There are so many if I am open to it and don’t let the thorns cloud my judgment about things.

Friendships with people are like gardens.  They need care to grow and bloom.  The garden needs to be constantly weeded.   Then I will be left with the flowers. If I am impatient I will end up pulling some of the flowers out with the weeds.  That will be a loss for me.  I have to tend to the garden giving of myself as it gives to me to keep it alive.  I must do the same with a friendship or it also
will die.

Every encounter we have with another is a relationship in the sense that it is a connection with each other regardless if it is short or forever. You are linked together at that time. I try to remind myself it is important that I am patient and not irritated by the weeds and be sure to use that energy tending to the flowers. Not all relationships are meant to be friendships.

Will there be disappointments and hurts?  You bet there will be but there are so many more gifts from the flowers in life. Will it be easy?  No way it is  hard work.  There is such a variety of flowers so it will be trial and error sometimes. We all have things about us that can annoy or irritate others and we all won’t get along just as all flowers don’t grow well with each other.  If we can look past that and nurture that garden it will grow and be such a gift like a relationship that turns into a friendship.

I Sincerely thank all the flowers in my Garden of Friendships!

4 Comments

Filed under all, friendship, lifestyles, writing, general, uncategorized

4 responses to “My Garden of Friendships

  1. Hello there…I found your description of friendships being compared to gardens a descriptive way of describing this new world we live in :). Sometimes peoples gardens of life are more like low maintainance slabbed or pebbled havens of memories more than friendships though.
    The people i know of are little corners of the bigger picturesque landscape weaving their little paths yet not joining up.I leave your garden with peacefull thoughts & sun light cascading through the trees & the sounds of water bubbling through the streams of life.

  2. marilyn

    Oh, Linda,
    I love how you captured such such precious gifts from the Lord. Excellent!!!

  3. Linda, this is a wonderful read and true on many levels. The idea of nurturing the garden is so important, especially if we are trying to reach our potential, the need of reaching for the light.

Leave a Reply

