THE POETRY CORNER – The Sleep Robber – An Attempt at New Styles of Writing!


Well NanoWrimo is over.  What a long month November was on one hand and on the other there was not enough time.  For those who are not familiar with  NanoWrimo it is a world-wide contest where you write a novel of 50,000 words or more unedited.  That is at least 1700 words a day!  Not an easy feat for sure.  But I did it with a few days to spare.  This is my 4th year and have finished three out of the four years. I am working at rewriting and editing what I have written each Nano.  This year I did not like my story.  Can it be saved, I don’t know .  I learned a lot about myself because I tried new styles.  I am not a crime mystery writer.    And that is fine with me!  It was a learning process and  I am learning.  It is important to be open to learning new things.  Writers are no exception.    My big love of course is poetry.  I am a freestyle writer but I am trying  different styles.  I just learned about the style called “Viator”.  It is a poem has of four stanzas in which the 1st line of the 1st stanza appears throughout  the poem, moving to the 2nd line in the 2nd stanza  then the next it would be the 3rd line and the poem’s fourth stanza ends with the line with which the first began.  (Thank you to my writer friend that told me about this style).  This is my first attempt at it so we shall see with practice and an open mind what I can come up with.   Hope you enjoy it too!

The Sleep Robber

It comes at night so you can’t sleep

It wants your mind for it to keep

It takes control without you inviting it in

You close your eyes but you know it will win

_

Make a point of thought so deep

It comes at night when you can’t sleep

You try a good thought in your mind

But it always comes is the truth you find

_

It took what it came for, leaving you drained

It definitely can cause you to be a bit insane

It comes at night when you can’t sleep

It does not walk in it just does creep

_

Nothing worked try as you may

A rude reality, suddenly it is day

It did not walk in it did creep

It comes at night when you can’t sleep

2 Comments

Filed under all, blogging, life, lifestyles, literature rants, me, poems, poetry, poetry, thoughts, writing, writing, general, uncategorized

2 responses to “THE POETRY CORNER – The Sleep Robber – An Attempt at New Styles of Writing!

  1. marilyn

    Linda,
    I love your latest poem:) How true the words and the new style is quite intriguing!!!
    xoxoxomxoxoxo

  2. I like this blog it’s a master piece! Glad I detected this on google.

Leave a Reply

