Keeping My Attitude Up! (THIS IS A RE-RUN)


WARNING THIS IS A RE-RUN FROM May 30,2012.

Again I find my writing has seemed to stall.  I think if you go back into my blog (about the second maybe 3rd page) and read “THE SLEEP ROBBER” you will understand  part of the reason.  And with that comes my attitude which again needs adjusting and reviving.  Things have happened that got in the way of my working on my attitude which is a constant job.  I feel we are all in charge of our attitudes and like all work it is something you have to do every day.  So I apologize for the hit and miss blogging and this re-run.  I am working on the attitude and some new posts.  I thank you all so much for your patience and your support by following me.   I appreciate your patience.  Hopefully you will find that it has been worth it.  So now I will go work on some new things but  as you can see I have been here before, lol, lol.

May 2012

I have not been on my blog for a while, let’s just say I do have a good reason and it is beyond my control.  But still I am frustrated.  I want to write.  And because my attitude needs tuning again which means work.

I want to write about attitude today.  Mainly because sometimes I know I need an Attitude Adjustment and need to remind myself of this.  I believe my faith in God gets me through so much but I have to do the work also.    Attitude is work and it needs to be kept up and fine tuned.   It is not an easy job but I believe it can be done in most cases.  I say most cases because there are always some exceptions in life.

I know I have said this before but I believe in the  half full not half  empty glass.  I believe when I go through tough or trying times that there is always someone else that is worse off than I am unfortunately for them but a reminder to me to keep an “Attitude of Gratitude” that it is not worse for me.    I know that life with all its bad has so much more good if we look for it.   I believe there is a good lesson in almost every situation good or bad and I just have to look at what that lesson is and learn from it.  I believe that behind every closed-door there is something to be discovered and if the door closes for me, it means I should move on to the next one because that is not the one I need at that time.

Now having said all that even though I have always lived by this, I admit in some matters it took me a long time to be able to apply these thoughts to it.  I also will say I need a lot of practice and work to keep it up like every human does so I have to work hard at it.   So how do I do this?

PRAYER:

For me this is the most important and works always.  How you pray is up to each  person.  But that “talk” with God gets me every time.

 LISTS:

I sometimes make a list, sometimes mental sometimes on paper.  Well first of all I am rich with love in my family that I have in my life.  I am beyond billionaire status in this part of my life.  I have best friend and good husband of 43 years, two wonderful loving, healthy, giving sons, happy with great loves in their lives, and beautiful, wonderful, awesome grandkids.  WOW!  How lucky is that?   I think about that and that brings a smile and that can clear out anything that is getting in my way of a good attitude.   It reminds me of what I do have.  It is a very important thing to do to pick up my attitude.  Then from there if I need more help I can list all the other things I do have. (I do not mean things as in possessions.)  For everyone this list would be different.  I have health issues BUT:  and I list how much worse they could be.   That goes for any issues I have.  Lists can be a wonderful way to remind myself because when you write it down, you not only think it, you see it and read it out loud so you hear it too.  Involving your senses goes a long way to help retain that information.

 GO OUT AND SEE AND HELP:

Volunteering somewhere where people need help reminds me how lucky I am.  This is a two-fold step for me.  Because you meet so many wonderful people and so many of them have that good attitude thing going and I learn so much from them.  There are people out there with nothing and yet have so much GRACE and appreciation for life.  It is humbling.    Sometimes just going somewhere where things aren’t the best is enough to remind me.  Count all my blessings!

PRACTICE:

I think practicing it every day is critical.  If I wake up “on the wrong side of the bed” I have to force myself to look for something on the brighter side.  Attitude like anything else in life is working at it to become better.  If you want to play an instrument or a sport or be successful at a job you have to practice to become the best you can be.  Why would we not think it is the same in all else we do.  It takes practice to become proficient in something.  Something I was taught was, life is about working.  It takes work to be your best.   Work is hard but that is what gets us anywhere.  There are no free rides in life.   Everything comes through work and effort.    If you find a free ride you better look at it carefully before you get on because there most likely will be a price, we may just not see it upfront.  Usually that price is higher than most.  Now a free ride is different than a gift.  We are many times given gifts some are just that and a wonderful thing that is.  But some still come with a price.  We just have to work and study at which it is and is the price worth it.

GARDENING:

AHHHHHH!  For me there is nothing better than digging in the dirt and watching something grow.  The garden is like a church to me.  It is holy!  It has miracles everywhere you look.  The flowers, the trees, the birds and the bees and yes even the weeds.    That will bring me out of bad attitude every time.

MUSIC:

For me music is a gift.  And I love it and it always seems to cheer me up and on.  I love picking a play list on a bad day with songs that are upbeat and have good words that send messages of positive thoughts.  It is surprising how many do even some of the blues have good positive messages in them.  And yes I even have heard a rap song or two that has lots of positive affirmations in it.  So next time you hear a song listen and you may find a line or two that will help change you thought process on a bad day.  Sometimes the music itself is uplifting on its own.

“ATTITUDE OF GRATTITUDE”

I try to always be thankful for just waking up everyday to be around and enjoy all there is to enjoy.  There is always something I believe I can find to be grateful for.

LAUGHTER AND SMILES:

Oh yes another very important one for me.  Laughter is the best medicine that has been known for centuries.  GOTTA LAUGH OUT LOUD !  This is one of my favorite sayings to myself when I am overwhelmed.  And sometimes I just have to buck up and put on a smile and that changes my thought process.  It takes more work to frown than to smile.

FRIENDS AND FAMILY:

Sometimes just spending some time or hearing from a good friend or family does the trick!  It is one of those gifts we get.

Those are some of my methods of madness.  I am sure there are so many more ways to work at keeping my attitude up there.  I know that many of you have fantastic attitudes and have other ideas.  Feel free to share!  We all need help and we all need fine tuning.  This is not easy and for some it is so much more work because they have so much more on their plates.  But it is what I believe will help us get through the rough patches and sink holes in this life.  Our attitudes can make a bad situation better and easier to deal with.  Our attitude is what people see and help them decide if they want to be around in your life.

HAVE A GREAT DAY!

24 Comments

Filed under all, blogging, daily life, friendship, life, lifestyles, me, poetry, random thoughts, thoughts, writing, writing, general, uncategorized

24 responses to “Keeping My Attitude Up! (THIS IS A RE-RUN)

  1. Another wonderful read! I want to let you knot that I nominated you for the Illuminating Blog Award: http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/,

  2. A good reminder, thanks! One of my ways to keep my attitude up is looking for an image everyday that is positive for my blog followers and sharing it with them. They seem to be enjoying my series too, but I’m amazed at what it has done for me to always be on the hunt for something beautiful to capture with my camera each day.

  3. faye

    Thank you, Linda..Everything you said is true.
    One thing I do is, dealing with a chronic illness is no picnic, but I KNOW it could always be worse.
    I firmly believe this, we cannot always control our bodies, and our disease, but we CAN control how we choose to deal with it.
    I have learned to adapt and to get past so many ‘barriers’ that I have created in my mind.
    A never ending learning process!
    Thanks Again, Linda!

  4. j.W.

    It was very beautiful words to be expressed and you done it well, I do admire your work and your words that you used, thank you my friend

  5. I’m still learning from you, as I’m making my way to the top as well. I absolutely liked reading all that is posted on your site.Keep the posts coming. I liked it!

  6. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  7. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  8. There is evidently a lot to realize about this. I consider you made various nice points in features also.

  9. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

  10. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  11. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  12. I intended to post you one little bit of word to finally say thank you the moment again with the pretty suggestions you’ve shown on this page. This is quite seriously open-handed with you to present extensively just what numerous people could have advertised for an electronic book to end up making some money on their own, certainly since you might have done it if you ever considered necessary. The techniques additionally served to become a great way to understand that other individuals have similar keenness just like my own to figure out lots more pertaining to this condition. I am certain there are a lot more pleasurable occasions in the future for folks who look into your blog post.

  13. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  14. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  15. hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

  16. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific site.

  17. Thank you all for you responses and comments. I appreciate your time and thoughts !

  18. I think that everything said was actually very reasonable. However, what
    about this? suppose you were to write a killer post title?
    I ain’t suggesting your content is not solid, but what if you added a title that makes people desire more? I mean Keeping My Attitude Up! | Writingwildly by Linda Garcia is kinda vanilla. You might glance at Yahoo’s
    home page and note how they write post headlines to get viewers
    interested. You might add a video or a related pic or two to get readers interested about
    everything’ve written. In my opinion, it would bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

  19. Reblogged this on Writingwildly by Linda Garcia and commented:

    This is a Re-run but a needed reminder for me.

  20. Marilyn

    Well, Sweet Linda,
    This is amazing and so like you!!!
    You have a wonderful way with words and your understanding of life is profound!!!
    It is a joy to follow you ❤

Leave a Reply

