INTO THE EYES OF DEATH


I wrote this in March after another friend passed on.  She will be missed, then my dear Aunt, that one was harder yet.  I notice as I get older I see more people I know and love pass on.   It is just a fact of life that it will all end in death.

This poem contains thoughts that came from observing the common factors they all seemed to share.

INTO THE EYES OF DEATH

I have seen the into the eyes of death through a loved one’s eyes,

Or at least a tease of what could be soon to come in disguise.

Glad to say a reprieve is here,

But I see they see the end in the clear.

So what do I notice of this one who may walk away soon,

they are much closer to their life’s high noon.

Fear, yes I see it there,

but in this circumstance it seems fair.

Sadness, yes of what they will leave.

Glad of the big impact they made they do believe.

Loneliness, yes it is a journey you go alone,

knowing you will never again come home.

A better place we all hope to arrive,

But still most of us want to hang on and survive.

Leave a comment

Filed under all

Leave a Reply

