An Exercise on Nice! (Re-blogged from April, 2011)


An Exercise on Nice! (Re-blogged from April, 2011)

 

When dealing with other people, always have a kind thought.

This is something that even by yourself can be taught.

Better yet say it out loud.

Make someone’s day and yourself proud.

It is worth more than you may realize.

Make someone’s day and watch their mood rise.

There is always something nice to say,

Even if it is “How are you today?”

Bring out a person’s smile.

That can take them many a mile.

Start the chain and share the joy.

Never, never Lie.  Then it won’t work.

More than that it makes you the jerk.

But if you are sincere and let someone near,

Long enough to say a kind thought for them today.

You will see the sun rise in their face and in their eyes.

It will be a good surprise.

For everyone needs a kind word.

Every day it should be heard.

What a pleasant world this would be.

If everyone could only see!

I started doing this little exercise on being nice a few years back.   Whenever I go and do my errands; grocery shopping, post office, beauty shop, or anything involving another person, I make a point of finding something nice about the person I am dealing with and compliment them on it.

It may they have a great smile or nice eyes or a great hair cut.  It may be the color they are wearing looks great on them or that their customer service is good, it doesn’t matter as long as it is honest.  I know how tough it is to work with people all day long.   We can sometimes all get cranky or impatient in situations so I check myself and my attitude by really taking time to find something nice about this person and tell them especially if they are cranky already.     I never lie or make something up.   I really look for something and sometimes that is hard but there is something good to be found in everyone, I believe that.

This usually changes the interaction and usually for the good on both sides.  It just makes getting things easier and pleasant.    It can change your whole day from bad to good.   Yes, I do it for me also.  I still have this child like world peace vision that I know so many of us still have and want.     I want everyone to feel good about themselves.   I still believe there still is a lot of good in this world and I feel now is the time to show it!

 

This is a re-blog from April 2011. I was reminded of this one because I used this practice of mine to find something good in everyone. This morning a friend who always compliments people ( Thank you CMB) who reminded me also so I thought I would re post this. Have a great day!

5 Comments

Filed under blogging, daily life, friendship, goals, health, life, lifestyles, me, poems, poetry, poetry, random thoughts, thoughts, writing

5 responses to “An Exercise on Nice! (Re-blogged from April, 2011)

  1. Marilyn

    What a great blog for Earth Day, Linda!!! Kindness is the best fertile ground we can all flourish in…and bloom into our most beautiful self ❤ 🙂 ❤ Thank you ❤

  2. This is so true. Even giving a smile to someone can really change their day and sometimes yours too. It creates connection and sometimes opens the door to an important or special conversation. No matter what, it makes the world brighter. And you definitely make the world brighter…Thanks!

Leave a Reply

