A POEM BY DARON BEASLEY “FROM THE FRONT PORCH”


Writing is medicine to me.  I write a lot of poems because it is fun, it is serious, it is happy, it is sad and it comes from my heart and head that way!    Oh I can make up stuff for a book, my imagination comes up with all kinds of things  but for some reason poems always seem to pop up.  These last few years I have met a lot of great writers and poets.  It has taught me a lot.  Not only on the how of writing but the how, who and what of life.  There are so many perspectives.  There are so many opinions to hear and learn from.

Every few years it seems I go through a spell when nothing wants to spill down the fall onto the paper.  Words might start to form but they don’t fit with each other.  That is why you see this blog go on for quiet mode for a while without movement.    So for awhile I take a break and read different blogs and books or stories to see what is out there.

I was doing that today and I read a friends poem and it was beautifully put of something I know I need to remind myself of and I know many other people also that get into the rut of life instead of living every moment we worry about what is ahead or behind or both.   I want to be aware of today, now, this minute!      I know I don’t enough.   I try, I enjoy every day but thoughts of past sneak in or worry or just excitement of tomorrow and what it may bring sneaks in to take you eyes away from the prize and that is this very moment, every one of these very moments.

I loved the way Daron captured it with his words put together in such a wonderful way that I felt I was there in that moment with him with the birds and the sun and the breeze.   Daron gets a lot of good thoughts on his front porch and this may be the start of a wonderful series I hope.

Thank You Daron for letting me share this!

From the Front Porch

I’ve been out here for hours now
And not one word has been put to paper
But the sun is warm and the breeze is a gentle caress
Maybe this moment is exactly as it should be;
To sit here and marvel at the gift of the consciousness
That records and governs my life.

All of it is Life:
The mailman, greeting as he walks past,
and the trees above me whispering to each other, 
and the birds, always the birds, overhead.
I’m going to sit here a while longer
Like nothing is happening
and experience every moment of this thing we call
Life.

By Daron M. Beasley  9/16/2016

1 Comment

Filed under Art, blogging, daily life, dreams, health, life, lifestyles, poems, poetry, poetry, random thoughts, thoughts

One response to “A POEM BY DARON BEASLEY “FROM THE FRONT PORCH”

  1. This is my first visit, Linda, and I like it a lot. Now that I understand the nature of this site, I can better prepare something you might find appropriate. I look forward to working with you in the future.
    Daron

Leave a Reply

