THE BOOK SHOULD STAY


I have always been a what I call a hit and miss blogger.  I hit when I am on a good writing run and I miss when I am not.  This last few years so much has happened and going on that the misses are more than the hits.  I appreciate all of you who stick with me.  I am trying to get back into it again.  I have worked for three or four months trying to write a poem that doesn’t rhyme, lol,  I just haven’t been able to do it yet.  I want to put a book together of poetry so I am going through a lot of my poems and see which ones I want to use.  I am also editing them and rewriting some.  This will also help me editing.  Oh that is hard for me.  I have a story in verse I plan to try and get edited and out there.  It needs big time editing and an ending.  It is already over 50,000 words.   So I am going to practice on small things first.  I am still trying to write some new things too.  Some people seem to just put out the words so easily and steadily.  That is the amazing to me!

This first poem I am working on I published here about 3 years ago.  It has been changed for the better I hope.  Enjoy!

I am open to suggestions or comments as I post some of these if you care to.  After all the readers are usually the best judges!

THE BOOK SHOULD STAY

 

Opening windows here and there.

Opening screens everywhere.

Who would have thought the pen was dead?

Now we have laptops instead.

 

If that is not bad enough,

They want to replace books with that stuff.

No books you say, I think I might die.

And most people will ask, why?

 

There is no way they should take them away.

It is wrong I want to say.

Open a book anywhere you go,

There is always something you will want to know.

Books and their words should be here forever,

They help make people become very clever.

 

You cannot do this I stand up and shout!

There is more than reading that a book is about.

What happens when the machine battery dies or it breaks?

And it was decided that books, they would no longer make?  

All the wondrous words lost,

That will be at a very high cost.

Books are to be held in your hand.

To see the words that helps your mind expand.

T0 feel the texture of the book you hold,

Is what makes it a special experience so bold.

There is a feeling of holding it and the turning of the page,

Will it hold more wisdom than a wise sage?

To receive a book is truly a gift.

It certainly will give you a lift.

All the beautiful words they keep,

There is nothing like a good book to make you think deep.

Maybe an adventure into a foreign land,

Or a trip back in time unplanned.

Whatever it may be it opens your mind,

And tickles your senses with many adventures you will find.

 

It can be used as a tutor,

Sure you can read the book on a computer.

But a great experience is lost, and at such a high cost.

 So pick up a book today.

Hold it, read it and experience it in a new way.

You will appreciate its value and want books to stay.

For reading a good book is like a pleasant breeze.

It blows new thoughts into your head for you to seize.

That is what it takes for your mind to grow.

This helps you learn new things for you to know.

4 Comments

Filed under blogging, daily life, goals, poems, poetry

4 responses to “THE BOOK SHOULD STAY

  1. Marilyn

    What a glorious blog, Linda!!! It is filled with truth and your obvious love of words and books ❤️⚜❤️

  2. I like this one! For a very small edit, I think you could take out ‘do’ in ‘the book you do hold’ in about the middle of the poem. To me the rhythm would still work and it would feel more natural. I love the sentiment of this poem. Print books are still something special. And your caution about what would happen if electronic data was lost and we had quit making books…that would be terrible indeed!

  3. Sr. Margaret Brown

    Sage advise written in prose which makes it all the palatible to take in. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

