As We Get Older!


I have heard many things about “As we get older”.    And I am now seeing a lot of these things happening as I get older.  One of them is loss.  The older I get the more loss I see.  There is not just older people either just people you know that seem to die young or old.

Of course we all expect to see our grandparents and parents go.  That is one of the hardest things.  My dad died when I was in my early 30’s  and then every now and then we would lose a friend or an uncle or two in a year.

I have started losing more and more friends.  And last year the very devastating loss of my mother.  So what does all this means.  It means that as I get older so does everyone around me and we are all approaching that age where people are dying at.

So what have I learned from this?  Well take good care of my health.  Be kind to others especially those you love their time may be soon and then they are gone.  It is too late to let them know how much you cared.      Because we never know when it is our time.

I also have learned that stress is  a big killer.  Every day I start my day now sitting outside listening to mother nature’s news cast for the day.  No TV. not even my music which I love and listen to all the time.  Music is medicine for the soul and mind and body.  But being outside sitting. listening, feeling the morning air at 5  or 6 am (or whatever time you get up will help start your day with calm and joy.  And hopefully more time to hang around with a good friend that just may not be around for long.   You may find something different that works better for you but keeping stress away from your life is critical.

Yes age does bring a lot to us, I just want to handle it with as much grace as I can and hopefully these old bones will take me  and my friends and family through to another day.  Thankfully I have discovered how to start my day right and I will be working on all the rest!   Have a Great Day!

 

To Our very special friend Chris V.  you will be missed and you most certainly will be remembered!

6 Comments

Filed under all, daily life, life, me, thoughts

6 responses to “As We Get Older!

  1. This made me think that as we lose every day and all that keeps us here on earth it only brings us closer to home and Heaven. That we’ll never lose!

  2. Sr. Margaret Brown

    Thank you Linda….very well said and felt!

  3. Marilyn

    Ah, a touch of divine grace…how lovely.
    Thank you so much, Linda 💜🙏🏻💜

Leave a Reply

